Monday, May 03, 2010

Craig Zucker Announces Campaign, Releases Gigantic Endorsement List

As expected, Craig Zucker, the Comptroller's Deputy Chief of Staff, has announced his candidacy for the House of Delegates in District 14. Zucker has also released a MONSTER list of endorsements that far exceeds the count collected by any other challenger or open seat candidate in the county. In the wake of the Lenett debacle, we hear that these endorsements have been triple- and quadruple-checked. Following is Zucker's statement.

Contact: Craig Zucker

Zucker Launches Bid for the Maryland House of Delegates
Pledges to be a Strong, Independent Advocate for District 14; Announces Support from Almost 40 Former and Current Elected Officials

BROOKEVILLE, MARYLAND – Promising progressive, effective, and independent leadership for the people of the 14th Legislative District, this morning Craig Zucker (Democrat-Brookeville) officially filed as a candidate for the Maryland House of Delegates in the 2010 election. Zucker, 35, brings more than 15 years of public and community service to the campaign.

Joined by his wife Jennifer and son Ben, Zucker stated, “I am proud and humbled to be running for the House of Delegates as an independent and effective leader for the people of District 14. If elected, I pledge to work every day to ensure our community and its residents have the economic and educational resources it needs to succeed now, and in the future."

Zucker has been active with several community organizations, including the Olney Theatre Center, Project Change (Olney) and the Chelsea School, which prepares students with language-based learning disabilities for higher education. He has also served as Vice Chair of the Montgomery County Mid-County Recreation Advisory Board and as a member of the Carl M. Freeman F.A.C.E.S. Advisory Board. Craig currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Manna Food Center, which helps to feed the hungry in Montgomery County.

“Craig has always been a strong advocate for local needs, and I am confident that if elected, Craig will continue to be a tireless champion for the people of our community,” said Laytonsville Mayor Charles W. Oland.

If elected, Zucker has pledged to work to improve the economy, create jobs, protect quality education for our children, and safeguard against uncontrollable sprawl. Zucker brings great experience in both the state and federal branches of government.

"Craig is well respected throughout the district and has the experience to be an effective legislator. It would be a pleasure to serve with him," stated Delegate Anne Kaiser.

Zucker currently serves as Deputy Chief of Staff to State Comptroller Peter Franchot. Craig has worked for two U.S. Senators, served as a county District Director to a Member of Congress from Maryland, and was Legislative Director to a Maryland State Delegate. He also worked for several years in the private sector for a trade association.

"Craig's community ties and knowledge of state and local government will make him a strong champion in Annapolis for Montgomery County's priorities," said Councilmember Nancy Navarro.

In addition to Mayor Oland, Delegate Kaiser and Councilmember Navarro, Zucker has the endorsement of almost 40 former and current elected officials, including Maryland Comptroller Peter Franchot, Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler, Senator Rona Kramer, House Delegation Chairman Brain Feldman, and Senate Delegation Chairman Richard Madaleno.

Craig earned his Bachelors of Science Degree from St. Thomas Aquinas College and his Masters in Government from the Johns Hopkins University. Craig and his family live in Brookeville.

A full list of endorsements is below:

Elected Officials Supporting Craig Zucker
In alphabetical & District Order
• Maryland Comptroller Peter Franchot
• Maryland Attorney General Doug Gansler
• State Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.
• Senator Rona E. Kramer, District 14
• Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
• Former Delegate Tod Sher, District 14
• Senator Robert J. Garagiola, District 15
• Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
• Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15 – Chair, Montgomery County House Delegation
• Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
• Delegate William C. Frick, District 16
• Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16 - Vice Chair, Montgomery County House Delegation
• Delegate Kumar Barve, District 17 – House Majority Leader
• Delegate James W. Gilchrist, District 17
• Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
• Senator Richard Madaleno, District 18 – Chair, Montgomery County Senate Delegation
• Delegate Alfred Carr, Jr., District 18
• Former Delegate John Hurson, District 18 – Former House Majority Leader
• Delegate Jeffrey D. Waldstreicher, District 18
• Delegate Henry Heller, District 19
• Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
• Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
• Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
• Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
• Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
• Montgomery County Councilmember Marc Elrich, At-Large
• Montgomery County Councilmember Valerie Ervin, Vice-President, District 5
• Montgomery County Councilmember Mike Knapp, District 2
• Montgomery County Councilmember George Leventhal, At-Large
• Montgomery County Councilmember Nancy Navarro, District 4
• Montgomery County State’s Attorney John McCarthy
• Montgomery County Register of Wills Joseph Griffin
• Montgomery County Clerk of the Court Loretta Knight
• Montgomery County Deputy Sheriff Darren Popkin
• Commissioner Michael Acierno, President Town of Brookeville Commissioners
• Mayor Peter Fosselman, City of Kensington
• Mayor Sidney Katz, City of Gaithersburg
• Mayor Charles W. “Willard” Oland, Town of Laytonsville

Endorsements from District 14 community leaders and organizations to be released in the weeks ahead.