Wednesday, September 01, 2010

MCGEO Endorses in MoCo, Prince George's, Frederick Races

MCGEO has announced its endorsements in the County Council and state legislative races in Montgomery, Prince George's and Frederick Counties. Following is their press release.

For Immediate Release
August 30, 2010

MCGEO Endorses Seven Challengers, Nine Incumbents In Montgomery and Prince George’s County Council Race

Contact: Bob Stewart, Legislative Director, UFCW Local 1994 MCGEO

Seven challengers and nine incumbents are among the candidates endorsed by members of the United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 1994, Municipal County Government Employee Organization (MCGEO), in races for seats on the Montgomery and Prince George’s County Councils. The union’s members also tapped Rushern Baker as the best choice as Prince George’s County Executive.

In Montgomery County Council contests, the union gave the nod to challenger Craig Rice (District 2) along with incumbents Nancy Navarro (District 4) and Valerie Ervin (District 5). In the contested race for four at-large Council seats, the union endorsed newcomer Hans Riemer along with incumbent at-Large candidates George Leventhal, Marc Elrich and Nancy Floreen. The Local took no position in the County Executive race, and made no endorsements in the elections in Districts 1 and 3.

In Prince George’s County, MCGEO has endorsed five challengers—Sam Epps (District 1), Derrick Davis (District 6); Karen Toles (District 7), Obie Patterson, District 8 and Mel Franklin (District 9). The union also endorsed incumbents Will Campos (District 2), Eric Olsen (District 3), Ingrid Turner (District 4) and Andrea Harrison (District 5).

The Local reaffirmed its earlier endorsement of Rushern Baker for the office of Prince George’s County Executive, stating that Baker would “…bring a renewed dignity and the values that the people of Prince George’s County demand and deserve.”

Endorsements by the 10,000-member public employee union are made in a process that starts with candidate interviews and a review of questionnaires by a multi-employer rank-and-file committee. Recommendations by that committee are sent to the union’s executive board for consideration and the slate of final recommendations is ultimately voted on by the union’s membership, a process that was completed on August 26th.

MCGEO is endorsing the Gubernatorial slate of Martin O’Malley and Anthony Brown. In the Senate race, the union endorsed Senator Barbara Mikulski; and In Maryland Congressional races the union it will back candidates Donna F. Edwards (District 4); Steny Hoyer (District 5); Andrew Duck (District 6) and Chris VanHollen (District 8). In other statewide races, the union backs Comptroller Peter Franchot and Attorney General Douglas Gansler.

A full list of Local 1994 endorsements, including general assembly candidates, is attached.

UFCW Local 1994 represents a range of government personnel in Montgomery County—including Ride On bus drivers, deputy sheriffs, corrections officers, HHS workers, personnel in the Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission—along with library workers in Prince George’s County and police officers in the city of Cumberland, Maryland.

# # #

Statewide Races
U.S. Senator:
Barbara A. Mikulski
Maryland Governor:
Martin O’Malley
Maryland Lt. Governor:
Anthony G. Brown
Maryland Comptroller:
Peter Franchot
Maryland Attorney General:
Douglas F. Gansler

U.S. House of Representatives:
MD District 4
Donna F. Edwards
MD District 5
Steny H. Hoyer
MD District 6
Andrew Duck
MD District 8
Chris Van Hollen

Montgomery County
County Executive—No Endorsement
County Council
District 1—No Position
District 2—Craig Rice
District 3—No Endorsement
District 4—Nancy Navarro
District 5—Valerie Ervin
At-Large—George Leventhal; Marc Elrich; Nancy Floreen; Hans Riemer
Courthouse Offices
Sheriff—Darren Popkin
Clerk of the Circuit Court—Loretta Knight
Register of Wills—Joseph Griffin
State’s Attorney—John McCarthy
School Board—District 5—Louis Wilen
District 14—State Senate—No Position
House of Delegates—Anne Kaiser; Eric Luedtke; Craig Zucker
District 15—State Senate—Robert Garagiola
House of Delegates—Kathleen Dumais; Brian Feldman; Lara Wibeto
District 16—State Senate—Brian Frosh
House of Delegates—Bill Frick; Susan Lee; Kyle Lierman
District 17—State Senate—No Position
House of Delegates—Luiz Simmons; Kumar Barve; No Recommendation 3rd spot
District 18—State Senate—Rich Madaleno
House of Delegates—Ana Sol Gutierrez; Jeff Waldstreicher; Dana Beyer
District 19—State Senate—Roger Manno
House of Delegates—Bonnie Cullison; Jay Hutchins; Ben Kramer
District 20—State Senate—Jamie Raskin
House of Delegates—Sheila Hixson; Tom Hucker; Heather Mizeur
District 39—State Senate—Saqib Ali
House of Delegates—Charles Barkley; Kirill Reznik; Shane Robinson

Prince George’s County
County Executive—Rushern Baker
County Council—District 1—Sam Epps
District 2—Will Campos
District 3—Eric Olsen
District 4—Ingrid Turner
District 5—Andrea Harrison
DIstrict 6—Derrick Davis
District 7—Karen Toles
District 8—Obie Patterson
District 9—Mel Franklin
Courthouse Offices
Sheriff—Raphael Hylton
Register of Wills—Cereta Lee
State’s Attorney—Tom Dernoga
District 21—State Senate—Jim Rosapepe
House of Delegates—Joseline Pena Melnyk; Barbara Frush; Ben Barnes
District 22—State Senate—Paul Pinsky
House of Delegates—Justin Ross; Ann Healy; Tawana Gaines
District 23A—State Senate—Doug Peters
House of Delegates—James Hubbard; Nicole Williams
District 23B—Marvin Holmes
District 24—State Senate—Joanne Benson
House of Delegates—Carolyn Howard; Michael Vaughn; Greg Hall
District 25—State Senate—Ulysses Currie
House of Delegates—Aisha Braveboy; Melony Griffith; Dereck Davis
District 26—State Senate—Anthony Muse
House of Delegates—Veronica Turner; Kris Valderrama; No Endorsement of Jay Walker
District 27—State Senate—No Recommendation
House of Delegates—James Proctor; Joseph Vallario
District 47—State Senate—Victor Ramirez
House of Delegates—Doyle Niemann; Jolene Ivey; Wanda Shelton Martin

Frederick County
District 3—Senate—No Endorsement
3A—Galen R. Clagett
3A—No Recommendation
3B—Paul Gilligan
District 4—Senate—No Endorsement
4A—Ryan P. Trout
4A—No Recommendation