Thursday, February 26, 2009

CCT Draws Bi-County Support

Members of both the Montgomery and Frederick County Delegations sent the following letter to Governor O'Malley in support of the Corridor Cities Transitway (CCT). The signers include one Frederick Republican (Senator Alex Mooney - R-3), one Frederick Democrat (Delegate Sue Hecht - D3A), one Frederick Independent (Delegate Richard Weldon, I-3B) and ten Montgomery Democrats.

The Maryland General Assembly
Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

February 6, 2009

The Honorable Martin O'Malley
Office of the Governor
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

Dear Governor O'Malley,

We are pleased you included $3.5 million in fiscal year 2010 funding for the planning phase for the Corridor Cities Transitway (CCT). We appreciate your continued support for the transitway, which will link many communities - Clarksburg, Germantown, Gaithersburg and Rockville - to the Shady Grove Metro Station.

In addition to benefitting commuters in some of the fastest growing communities in both Montgomery and Frederick Counties and alleviating traffic congestion in the I-270 corridor, the CCT will play a vital role in the continued economic development of this region of the state. We also see the CCT as a critical component of the development of the Belward property with John's Hopkins University, which will lead to positive economic development in life sciences and technology fields.

We respectfully urge you to continue your support of the CCT to keep this transit project moving forward. As you know, the right-of-way is largely set aside, the community is generally very supportive of the Transitway, and there is strong local business and government support for it. It is our hope that you will provide the necessary engineering and construction funds in subsequent fiscal years, because this transit project is ready to go.


Rob Garagiola
State Senator - District 15

Charles E. Barkley
Delegate - District 39

Kumar P. Barve
Delegate - District 17

Kathleen M. Dumais
Delegate - District 15

Brian J. Feldman
Delegate - District 15

Jennie M. Forehand
State Senator - District 17

James W. Gilchrist
Delegate - District 17

Sue C. Hecht
Delegate - District 3A

Nancy J. King
State Senator - District 39

Alexander X. Mooney
State Senator - District 3

Kirill Reznik
Delegate - District 39

Craig L. Rice
Delegate - District 15

Richard B. Weldon, Jr.
Delegate - District 3B

cc: The Honorable John D. Porcari, Secretary, MDOT
Mr. Henry Kay, Deputy Administrator, Planning and Engineering, MTA