Thursday, May 14, 2009

New Members Elected to MCDCC

Following is the press release from MCDCC.


Press Release
May 14, 2009
For Immediate Release

Contact: Milt Minneman
Communications Director
FAX: 301-299-4604

New Members Elected to Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee

The Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee, at its May 12, 2009 meeting, elected Shirley C. Rivadeneira of Germantown as an At-Large-Member, filling a vacancy through the end of the 2006-10 term and Chloe Miller of Darnestown and Jordan Johnson of Silver Spring as Student Members for one year.

Shirley Rivadeneira is an attorney with the U.S. Department of Labor and has been active in the Nancy Navarro for District 4 Councilmember and Obama-Biden campaigns. Rivadeneira received the degrees of Juris Doctor and Master of International Affairs from American University and the degree of Bachelor of Arts from Emory University. She may be reached at 404-717-9861 or

Chloe Miller, a sophomore at Northwest High School, is a member of the High School Democrats and was supportive of the Central Committee at its 2009 Spring Ball, the 2008 Young Democrats kickoff, 2007 Holiday Party and the 2006 and 2008 Election Day activities. Miller may be reached at 301-963-9474 or

Jordan Johnson, a Junior at John F. Kennedy High School, was Vice President of the school's Young Democrat Club and is Junior Class President, volunteered in the Obama campaign. He may be reached at 301-871-6225 or 301-367-3926.

Biographies and photos are available on request.


The Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee is the official voice for the Democratic Party in Montgomery County on all questions of public policy and promotes democratic government, social justice, and economic opportunity for all.

3720 Farragut Avenue • Kensington, Maryland 20895 • 301-946-1000 • FAX 301-946-1002 •

By authority, MCDCC; Karen Britto, Chair; Simon Atlas, Treasurer.