Friday, November 09, 2007

Senate Vote on Slots

Here is the final tally on the slots bill adopted by the Senate along with selected breakdowns by party and region. The vote was 31-15 with one abstention. The measure needed 29 votes to pass.

Selected Breakdowns by Party and Region:
Republicans: 3 Yea, 10 Nay, 1 Absent
Montgomery (all are Democrats): 6 Yea, 2 Nay
Prince George's (all are Democrats): 6 Yea, 2 Nay
Baltimore City (all are Democrats): 5 Yea, 1 Nay
Baltimore County Democrats: 6 Yea, 0 Nay

Astle (D-Anne Arundel)
Britt (D-Prince George's)
Brochin (D-Baltimore County)
Colburn (R-Eastern Shore)
Conway (D-Baltimore City)
Currie (D-Prince George's)
DeGrange (D-Anne Arundel)
Dyson (D-Southern MD)
Edwards (R-Western MD)
Exum (D-Prince George's)
Forehand (D-Montgomery)
Garagiola (D-Montgomery)
Gladden (D-Baltimore City)
Jones (D-Baltimore City)
Kasemeyer (D-Baltimore County and Howard)
Kelley (D-Baltimore County)
King (D-Montgomery)
Klausmeier (D-Baltimore County)
Kramer (D-Montgomery)
Lenett (D-Montgomery)
Madaleno (D-Montgomery)
McFadden (D-Baltimore City)
Middleton (D-Charles)
Miller (D-Prince George's and Calvert)
Munson (R-Washington)
Peters (D-Prince George's)
Pugh (D-Baltimore City)
Robey (D-Howard)
Rosapepe (D-Anne Arundel and Prince George's)
Stone (D-Baltimore County)
Zirkin (D-Baltimore County)

Brinkley (R-Frederick and Carroll)
Della (D-Baltimore City)
Frosh (D-Montgomery)
Greenip (R-Anne Arundel)
Haines (R-Baltimore County and Carroll)
Harris (R-Baltimore County and Harford)
Jacobs (R-Cecil and Harford)
Kittleman (R-Carroll and Howard)
Mooney (R-Frederick and Washington)
Muse (D-Prince George's)
Pinsky (D-Prince George's)
Pipkin (R-Eastern Shore)
Raskin (D-Montgomery)
Simonaire (R-Anne Arundel)
Stoltzfus (R-Eastern Shore)

Hooper (R-Harford)

Three Republicans broke from their party's opposition to slots in the special session to vote for the bill. Democratic votes against did not come from any particular region of the State. Lopsided majorities of Democrats from Baltimore, Baltimore City, Montgomery, and Prince George's voted for the bill. Brian Frosh (D-16) was the only senator who is seen as a potential successor to Miller who voted no.